How did I accidentally adopt a pit bull?


Our beloved cat was eaten by a coyote. 😦 I know right!?!  A coyote!

And our dog was really sad when the cat didn’t come home. He was totally depressed. He just moped around the house and he didn’t even really seem to look for her — somehow he already knew she was gone. It was obvious we needed to adopt another pet so he wouldn’t be so sad and lonely. And we agreed to get a dog instead of a cat, since the cat may just end up getting eaten again.

We went to the doggie jail and looked at several dogs, walked them and played with them. I didn’t even look at the pit bulls. I have kids, one of them has autism — no way we would want a  pit bull.

As I walked by the cages one dog stood out because she wasn’t barking. All of the other dogs were jumping and barking but she was just sitting there quietly looking at me. The paper on her cage said she was a Tibetan Terrier mix. She was so cute. We walked her and played with her and she seemed to be a really sweet dog.

I had no idea what a Tibetan Terrier was. We went to lunch and talked about it and decided to adopt her. I was so excited and went back to get her.

This is a Tibetan Terrier:

This is a pit bull:

Pretty big difference – right? Yeah so this is the dog I adopted:

 

She looks just like a … Tibetan Terrier, right?

Yeah, I thought so too.

So after accepting the fact that I accidentally adopted a pit bull I started researching the breed and found out they are great family dogs. They are sweet, loving, loyal, good with kids, great guard dogs, they love human interaction and are just big loves. We assume they are aggressive dogs, but they have been great family dogs throughout history and have just recently received such a bad reputation.

Another lesson on why I shouldn’t ever judge someone, or somedog. I should have never judged the pit bulls —  and I feel bad for not even looking at the cages with pit bulls in them.

I am very glad I accidentally adopted one, she is a very welcome addition to our family and such a good girl.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nacole
    Mar 25, 2011 @ 14:36:30

    I have had several pitts and absolutely love them, its really all how you train them. we have a pit mix now and Marie will jump,lay,pull on him and he does nothing but lay there, He always have to be right next to her and checks up on her , she crys and he’s right there to make her feel better.. and has to sleep in her room .. But like every strong breed or even large breed dogs you have to know how to handle them and train them .. but alot of people that have pitts do not and teach them to be mean .. but since there is soo many dumb people do that to the breed everyone shys away or even dis the animal .. I heard more peole that get bite by a “cute” purse dog then them .. sorry just one topic that i have alot veiws on 🙂 But thank you for standing up for the breed

    Reply

    • Super Mom Jess
      Mar 25, 2011 @ 16:37:33

      Thanks Nacole. Pitts definitely need an owner who knows how to be the pack leader, etc. but they are so sweet and it is such a shame that they have such a bad reputation. Hope you guys are doing well 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
