Autism isn’t as scary as the news wants you to think


     Are you afraid of autism?

     When I was pregnant I was afraid of being too stressed out because I heard stress causes autism. I stressed over not stressing.

      I know the main reason I get the same questions over and over again about autism is because people are afraid. They want to know how they can dodge this bullet.

     Fear not.

     Autism occurs in 1 in 100 children and 1 in 70 boys.

     Scientists have NO CLUE what causes it. No matter what the study you heard on the Today Show said — the fact remains, they have no idea what is causing autism.

     It is believed to be genetic. There is no test for the gene. So you have no way to know if you have the gene.

    So really, it’s a crapshoot.

    No matter how many things you avoid, no matter how much you worry about not worrying, no matter how close in age your babies are, or whatever the latest study is telling you to be afraid of, your odds are the same. And frankly, they aren’t that great as far as avoiding this thing you fear so much. If you have a kid, your kid has a 1 in 100 chance of having autism. If that child is a boy, he has a 1 in 70 chance of having autism.

     AAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!! I’M FREAKING OUT!!! SCARY STUFF …. right?

     Nah. Autism isn’t scary and it is nothing to be afraid of. I think it is a gift – and so does Dr. Temple Grandin – she has autism and she wouldn’t change it for anything.

    And I wouldn’t change my son for anything. He is perfect and awesome just the way he is. (Yes, I really think that. I really wouldn’t take his autism away if I could – though I would definitely get rid of some of the not-so-fun behaviors.)

    So I think you should just take a nice deep breath (deep breath in …. deep breath out …… there …. doesn’t that feel better?) and stop worrying so much. Your kid will be fine, and no matter how much you worry and avoid things that may cause autism — he will still have the same odds of having autism. Sorry Charlie.

   Fear not. Everything is as it should be.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 15:37:41

    Love ya for that!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
